CREATivity

I’ve been trying to write something for awhile… something so brand spanking new that it’s going to knock the socks off of everyone who reads it, it’s going to rock the literary world and secure me a place amongst the greatest writers of our age…

And then I remember, my greatest literary achievements include a few published poems, an unpublished novel, one or two reviews and this blog. Hardly the grounds for the next Shakespeare. Sometimes it feels as though I have all this creative energy trapped inside me, waiting to explode onto the page, then when I sit down to write, I struggle to find the words to express it. I start a line of a novel, delete it…. perhaps it’s a poem? Nope, not that either… maybe then it’s an article… alas, still nothing.

Lately the only time I seem to be able to string a few words together is online and even then they’re hardly anything worth reading…. that said, maybe I shouldn’t beat myself up?

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” Sylvia Plath.

I always come up with these brilliant ideas, that are going to become instant hits… self-doubt sets in and they never reach the paper… but I think in reality, those brilliant ideas are never as great as I think they are. Charles Mingus, an American Jazz musician summed it all up for me in one quote…

“Creativity is more than just being different. Anybody can plan weird; that’s easy. What’s hard is to be as simple as Bach. Making the simple, awesomely simple, that’s creativity.”

Maybe my dreams of writing something so ground-breaking and new, are the very reasons why I find myself unable to write any of them down. Maybe I need to find that one simple idea floating around, and see what comes of it?

This entry was published on March 12, 2012 at 8:04 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

