Love Unspoken

This is a beautiful poem by a fantastic Chilean poet named Gabriela Mistral… the original is in Spanish. But this is the English translation. It’s gorgeous in both languages.

Love Unspoken

If I hated you, I'd give my hatred
to you in words, round and sure,
but I love you, and my love finds
all speech unreliable, obscure.

You'd like to hear it shouted out,
but coming from so deep, its flood
of fire fails and falters
before it reaches my breast, my throat.

A millpond full to overflowing.
I seem to you a spring gone dry,
and suffer from my wretched silence
worse than if I had to die.
This entry was published on July 12, 2011 at 7:44 am. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

